Which teacher can identify with Cinderella????

20161019_145835-2This week we are lucky to have an interview with Mrs McNulty from K/1A, who shares her favourite books and also some great tips for getting boys into books!

What was your favourite book as a child?

My favourite book was Milly-Molly-Mandy. I really liked the stories but what attracted me to them was that her name had my name in it! Her real name was Millicent Margaret Amanda.

 What is your favourite current children’s book?xthelma-the-unicorn-jpg-pagespeed-ic-hef7vrfm7a

Thelma the Unicorn, by Aaron Blabey. I think the story has a great message for children. Also it is fun to read and colourful. Let’s face it, who doesn’t like unicorns!

If you were a book character, who would you be?

I would be Cinderella. I think that we are a little bit alike. We work hard during the day, like to dress up at night when we go out, and we both married our prince charming!

What is your one tip for parents?

My advice for parents would be to read with your child everyday, take them to the library and get involved with the activities that the library provides. Find books that your child enjoys. My son didn’t really like reading but when he discovered his love of cars, he read everything that he could find on the subject. He loved Wheels magazines the most and he became a really good reader.

Leave a Reply

